3. (Un)breakable Cycle

In sickness and in health

Bader K Albader
2 min readNov 18, 2020
Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash

“Daria, is my breakfast ready?” Roared Fahad as he buttoned up his shirt.

“Almost, just a couple of minutes till the eggs are done, my dear husband.”

Daria always wakes up an hour before Fahad to have time to freshen up and prepare breakfast. Fahad gets agitated when she doesn’t look her best in the morning.

Fahad strolls into the kitchen without even acknowledging Daria, pulls out the chair at the top of the table, and takes a seat. Fahad examines his plate, cup, fork, and knife thoroughly. He pays attention to the tiniest detail as if he wishes to find merely a single speck of dust.

“Here you go, my dear, just as you like it,” Daria says with a fake smile as she scoops up some scrambled eggs and places them gently on Fahad’s plate.

Fahad picks up his fork and digs right in. “And my coffee?” He says with a full mouth and a sneer in his voice.

“Yes…” She gulps. “I’ll get it.. my dear.” Daria races to grab the coffee to pour it into his cup.

“Next time, make sure it’s ready before I come down here.”

Fahad gobbles up his breakfast and chugs his coffee. He marches to the door, grabs his car keys, and asserts: “Daria make sure lunch is ready by the time I get back from work.” He slams the door on his way out.

As Daria listens to the car drive away, she collapses to the ground and weeps with her head in her hands. She musters up the strength to stand up. She rubs her left hand on her belly in a clockwise motion and pushes her tail bone with her right.

“Don’t worry, little guy, I’ll do everything I can to protect you from your father.”

--

--

Bader K Albader

Sharing stories inspired by the world around me, my experiences, others experiences, and cultural taboos.